Friday, October 21, 2005

93 Schools Across U.S. to be Recognized for Efforts in Character Education

ATLANTA, Oct. 21 /U.S. Newswire/ -- Character Education Partnership -- -- announced today that 93 schools across the country have been named as recipients of its 2005 Promising Practices Award. CEP is a Washington D.C.- based nonprofit organization that works to make universal values an integral part of the K-12 curriculum and school culture. Its Promising Practices Awards recognize selected schools and districts that have implemented unique and specific strategies for effective character education.

These schools will be recognized in CEP's annual National Schools of Character publication and honored at CEP's National Forum: Building Cultures of Character, which is taking place in Atlanta, Ga., Oct. 20-22, at the Hilton Atlanta Hotel. All awardees also receive a certificate and a copy of the 2005 NSOC Award Winning Practices publication.

The 2005 schools and districts to be honored include: Amador County Unified School District (Jackson, CA), Arlington Traditional School (Arlington, VA), Avenel Street School (Avenel, NJ), Aventura City of Excellence School (Aventura, FL), Barclay Brook School (Monroe Township, NJ), Birmingham Covington School (Bloomfield Hills, MI), Boulton Elementary (Bountiful, UT), Bower Hill Elementary (Venetia, PA), Brennen Elementary School (Columbia, SC), Bridge Point Elementary (Austin, TX), Brook Avenue School (Bay Shore, NY), The Cambridge School (Tampa, FL), Canaan Elementary School (Patchogue, NY), Carroll County Public Schools (Westminster, MD), Centennial Arts Academy (Gainesville, GA), Chesterfield Elementary (Chesterfield, MO), Christa McAuliffe School (Jersey City, NJ), Christa McAuliffe Elementary (Palm Bay, FL), Colorado Elementary School (Muscatine, IA), Cornelia Elementary School (Edina, MN), Corning Painted Post High School Learning Center (Corning, NY), Cranford High School (Cranford, NJ), Cross Bayou Elementary School (Pinellas Park, FL), Dr. Charles P. De Fuccio School (Jersey City, NJ), Ezra L. Nolan Middle School (Jersey City, NJ), Fred W. Martin School (Jersey City, NJ), Freewill Elementary School (Ontario Center, NY), Gainesville Middle School (Gainesville, GA), Gebhardt Elementary School (Black River Falls, WI), Girls Preparatory School (Chattanooga, TN), Grace Hartman Elementary (Rockwall, TX), Green Meadow Elementary School (Castleton, NY), Harry S. Truman Elementary School (St. Louis, MO), Highland Park (Highland Park, NJ), Hiram High School (Hiram, GA), Horace Mann Elementary School (Washington, D.C.), Hudson PEP Elementary (Longview, TX), Jacobs Fork Middle School (Newton, NC), Jericho Elementary School (Centerach, NY), John Dewey High School (Brooklyn, NY), Joseph Brensinger School (Jersey City, NJ), Krahn Elementary (Spring, TX), Lincoln High School (Jersey City, NJ), Lindbergh High School (St. Louis, MO), Mary H. Matula Elementary School (La Plata, MD), Massapequa High School--Ames Campus (Massapequa, NY), Maude Aiton Elementary (Washington, D.C.), Maude Wilkins Elementary School (Maple Shade, NJ), Medford Elementary School (Patchogue, NY), Memorial Middle School (Fair Lawn, NJ), Midland School (Los Olivos, CA), Millard Hawk Primary School (Central Square, NY), Monte Cassino School (Tulsa, OK), Norwich Free Academy (Norwich, CT), Oregon Middle School (Medford, NY), Pearson School (Modesto, CA), Peninsula Heritage School (Rolling Hills Estates, NY), Pequannock Valley Middle School (Pompton Plains, NY), Peters Township High School (McMurray, PA), Peters Township Middle School (McMurray, PA), Pocomoke Middle School (Pocomoke, MD), Queen Anne School (Upper Marlboro, MD), Radix Elementary School (Williamstown, NJ), Randleman Middle School (Randleman, NC), Richland County School District One (Columbia, SC), Ridgewood Middle School (Arnold, MO), Robert Frost Elementary School (East Brunswick, NJ), Robert R. Lazar Middle School (Montville, NJ), Roosevelt-Perry Elementary (Louisville, KY), Rosedale Elementary School (Chico, CA), Saint Amelia School (Tonawanda, NY), Sappington Elementary School (St. Louis, MO), Shades Cahaba Elementary (Homewood, AL), South Amboy Elementary School (South Amboy, NJ), South Side Middle School (Rockville Centre, NY), South Weber Elementary (South Weber, UT), Saint John's School (San Juan, PR), St. Stephens Elementary School (Conover, NC), Stillwater Elementary School (Stillwater, NY), Thomas B. Conley School (Asbury, NJ), Valley School (Van Nuys, CA), Van Schaick Grade School (Cohoes, NY), Walnut Grove Elementary (Pleasanton, CA), Washburn Edison Junior Academy (Duluth, MN), Washington Grove Elementary School (Gaithersburg, MD), Waterloo Middle School (Waterloo, NY), Westwood Elementary (Friendswood, TX), William Halley Elementary School (Fairfax Station, VA), Woodrow Wilson SHS (Washington, D.C.), Wilson Magnet High School (Rochester, NY), Woodview School (Grayslake, IL) and Zane North Elementary (Collingswood, NJ).

The National Schools of Character program annually recognizes K-12 schools and districts demonstrating outstanding character education initiatives that yield positive results in student behavior, school climate and academic performance. All winners of this honor exhibit core ethical values such as honesty, respect and caring.
About Character Education Partnership

CEP is dedicated to developing young people of good character who become responsible and caring citizens. Founded in 1993 and chaired for 12 years by Sanford McDonnell, former Chairman and CEO of McDonnell Douglas Corporation, the Washington D.C.- based Character Education Partnership is a national, nonsectarian, nonprofit coalition of over 1,000 companies, organizations and individuals working to create schools and communities that foster ethical, responsible and caring young people. More information about CEP, the NSOC award recipients and the forum is available at


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home